Switching from another provider to T-Mobile

jamvan5150

I'm a bit confused and more than a bit upset. About a month ago, after a horrific problem with my previous provider, I decided to switch to T-Mobile. I liked the idea of knowing my proper bill amount every month (my previous provider, the bill was different every month!) plus the military discount (I'm a veteran). When I went into the store, I had a printout of the devices on my plan at the time (four phones, one iPad) along with a printout of the payoff amounts. The rep also had my login for my previous provider.

At the time, I was told my devices would be paid off, but I also asked if they assessed an ETF, what about that? I was told not to worry, that if my old account assessed an ETF on top of the phone payoffs, to just come back in, and they would handle it.

Well, the rep at the store (who, by the way, ISN'T the person who handled my account the day I signed up) told me that too bad..the phones I turned in, the credit went towards my new phones (how so? those are on a payment plan) and that there is nothing that can be done. I am on the hook for ETF fees with my old provider totaling $700!! When I explained that I was told that if an ETF were assessed after the fact it would be handled, she basically again just said too bad.

So now I am stuck with a nearly $700 bill for ETFs with my old provider, and service with T-Mobile that quite frankly stinks! I barely have service in my home, have several dead zones right near my home, and overall had I known about the issue of switching providers and the ETFs and how they wouldn't cover it (despite saying they would) I would have never switched!

Has anyone else experienced this, and if so, did you ever get it resolved?

All replies

• tmo_chris

Re: Switching from another provider to T-Mobile

Hey jamvan5150