New To T-Mobile w/unlocked LG G5 rs988

mparks1273

Hello 

I am new to t-mobile, just switched from Cricket.  I have an unlocked G5, it's the RS988 GSM/CDMA version sold by B&H.  so far it seems to be working ok. I have the LTE discovery app and that's showing me that it has connected to bands 12, 2, and 4.  mostly see it likes band 2 though. I see that the phone does not support any of the long range LTE bands T-Mobile uses like 66 or 71, will this be a problem for me?  since I have had this phone about 2 years I could upgrade soon to something else but prefer to say with a factory unlocked device. the Moto X4 64GB looks attractive to me, is that a good phone for the network if/when I pull the trigger on a new device?

Also I can not seen to get the T-mobile app to run on my phone.  I can log in then after a while of watching the circle spin I get a message "we are not ready for you yet. We're working on improving your app experience."  I switched monday and they told me at the store it would take about a day for the app to work, is this normal? 

All replies

• drnewcomb2

Re: New To T-Mobile w/unlocked LG G5 rs988

Band 66 is not a "long range" band. It's an extension of band 4 (mid-band). Band 12 is T-Mobile's original low-band (long range) LTE. Right now, about the only way to get a phone with the newest "long range" band (71) is to buy it from T-Mobile.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • mparks1273

Thanks,

So if my G5 is working on band 12 then there is not much point in an buying a new phone at this time as long as I'm happy with this one.  I did see one Moto Z series phone had band 71 but it was more than the mid range price I had in mind.

Now If I could get the app problem fixed I'd be all set up.

• drnewcomb2