Galaxy watch mobile data not working

magenta6184077

Hi,

I'm new to TMobile and just got the Galaxy watch with LTE. When I got home realized it wasn't connected to LTE so I filledfo the steps in the wear app, but when I click on the mobile networks section it thinks for a few seconds before returning the error "mobile service can't be setup from this phone".

My phone is a Pixel 2 XL.

Any help is appreciated.

All replies

• snn555

Re: Galaxy watch mobile data not working

Does your watch have a SIM card in it?  Is the watch set up on the account to use as an LTE device?

• magenta6184077

Yes, I had it all set up at a T Mobile store. I suppose I didn't physically watch them put the Sim card in the watch. I will check that

• magentatechie

Hey there!

Your Galaxy Watch has an eSIM inside, so it is not one to be inserted or removed.

In order for the watch to activate properly with a non-Galaxy phone, you have to go through an alternate setup process.  There is a bit of work involved, but it's the only way to pair as intended with your Pixel when not connected to Bluetooth.

Furthermore, there is a good chance that the store and customer care/tech support/retail support may come back and say that you can't pair a Galaxy watch to a non-Galaxy phone.  Fortunately, this is not true- and the information simply hasn't been widespread available to T-Mobile employees. (Yet! I'm working on it!)

Take a deep breath! Read through the directions carefully and if you do need to go to the store to have them assist with obtaining a Galaxy device for the pairing, make sure you bring these instructions!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------