charged extra for using whatsapp on an unlimited data plan

mataz

I am charged extra for using WhatsApp but I have an unlimited data plan. How is this possible?

All replies

• snn555

Whatsapp call became wifi calling

Maybe that link explains it a little. 

• mataz

Yes I made international calls and have been doing it since WhatsApp was invented. No charges. Until this month. I am a computer engineer and know a thing or two about VoIP. International or not it shouldn’t matter. It is data and I have an unlimited data plan. I’ve had an unlimited data plan for 10 years. The only thing that can explain this is the Internet deregulation legislation. But we have not received any communication from T-Mobil that this was going to happen.

Sent from my iPhone

• magentatechie

Oh my goodness! I would certainly be pretty confused too!  How were you using WhatsApp?  Did you make an international call with it?

I ask because I have been doing a ton of research regarding this very situation.  Users from all carriers have reported seeing international call charges on their bill after using a VoIP service such as WhatsApp, FaceTime, etc for years. I'd love to get more information about your situation.  For example, if it was an international call, were you on WiFi at the time and was your WiFi calling turned on?  Was the phone in airplane mode?  Did you grant WhatsApp permission to use your Phone (not just SMS or Contacts)?

• mataz

Yes I made international calls and have been doing it since WhatsApp was invented. No charges. Until this month. I am a computer engineer and know a thing or two about VoIP. International or not it shouldn’t matter. It is data and I have an unlimited data plan. I’ve had an unlimited data plan for 10 years. The only thing that can explain this is the Internet deregulation legislation. But we have not received any communication from T-Mobil that this was going to happen.

Sent from my iPhone

• magentatechie