Setting up 4G LTE Cellspot

patrickjunior

Hi,

I was just sent a 4g LTE cellspot from T-Mobile to help with the low cell signal that I have in my home. It seems pretty easy to set up, however, when I went to my modem (which I have via Spectrum), I saw that there was only one ethernet port and this was taken up with my router. Now, on my router there are a number of ethernet ports that are designated as "LAN" ports, but there is only one yellow "WAN" port. Can I plug the Cellspot into one of the LAN ethernet ports on my router, or do I need to buy an ethernet switch or something so that I can more or less multiply the number of WAN ports on my modem?

I am completely new to this so any advice will be most appreciated. Thanks!

All replies

• smplyunprdctble

Re: Setting up 4G LTE Cellspot

According to what I'm reading, plug the yellow cable from the yellow WAN port on your cellspot to any port in your router (not directly to your modem).

• patrickjunior

Thanks for the response!

Well, that would certainly be great if it were the case—and perhaps it is. However, I’ve had mine plugged in to one of the LAN ports on my router for about 6 hours, and the power and internet lights are still blinking (which, according to the troubleshooting guide means it can’t connect to the internet).

Where did you read that info? Perhaps I can take a look and see if it speaks to my particular situation at all.

• smplyunprdctble

The setup guide located here:

4G LTE CellSpot V1

1 of 1 people found this helpful
                • irbrenda

i have next exact same issue.   I am actually replacing my unit because it no longer would complete setup after a power failure in my house.  Today  I set up the unit again and after 6 hours, same thing: green blinking power light and blinking amber Internet.  Well I was told it will take up to 72 hours to complete because I too have Spectrum.  Is that really the issue???