New York City 4G LTE Service Issue

nycscott

For a long time I've been a huge T-Mobile cheerleader. I have LOVED what John Legere has done to shake up the industry and force all carriers into transparent pricing.  That has made the world a better place, for sure! When my sister, who had been on Sprint forever, wanted to change, I convinced her to join me on T-Mobile. Afterall, I loved what the company stood for, and you, know, all the carriers are pretty much same, unless you go Verizon, and you're going to pay extra for them, right? These feelings have been slowly drained out of me through years of poor service and problems that I can no longer defend, and I want answers!

I'm really trying to understand the problems with 4G LTE service in Manhattan and surrounding areas. I realize that the number of users in an area can have a large impact on service quality, and of course the NYC area has a higher than average concentration.I am not an expert in any of these things, but I've been through the customer support mill numerous times now with T-Mobile. They have really great customer support!  So great, in fact, that they've been placating me with false promises for years. I tweet John Legere and they get back to me immediately, and they really sound like they care.  I get the sense that they are working closely with engineers to get to the bottom of my concerns, and they always come back with the same answer.  Something to the effect of, "we are working on a number of projects in your area to improve service greatly and they are slated to be complete around [insert some time in the next few months here].  I've been through it enough times now to realize that it's the company line.  It's really good, but I no longer believe a word of it.