Lost the insurance on my device when I moved it to other line

magenta4281488

Hello,

I'm not sure if im posting in the right place, but i have a samsung note 5 I've been paying on since December 2016. I moved the phone over to another line I added into the account last August or September, and the phone was recently lost or stole. I tried to report it to tmobile and file a claim to get a new phone but when I called in, tmobile told me the phone didn't have insurance and I had to add it back on when I moved the phone to my other line. So now I am here stuck paying the $100 or so I still owe on and I am unable to replace it without purchasing a new device. I don't understand how this is possible or fair when this was never my fault?  I was never informed I'd have to re add insurance when I moved the device. 

I have been told there is nothing tmobile can do.  I just don't understand how this is fair?

All replies

• theartiszan

Unfortunately insurance is on the line the phone is purchased with and not tied directly to the phone. And since you can only add insurance within the time the phone is purchased, insurance can't be transferred to another line. Also to be able to file a claim, you need to have usage of that device on the line for some time before the claimed event. This is all for to measures to prevent insurance fraud. Sadly, given those limitations, there really isn't anything you can do. The policy is also by the insurance provider assurion and not T-Mobile. So there really isn't anything TMobile can do either.

• dragon1562