Complaint

magenta4168353

Dear T Mobile,

My name is Jaime, I am a Virtualization/Cloud Solutions Architect and have worked with telecommunications technologies for 20 years. Recently, I decided to switch to T-Mobile. Unfortunately, my experience has been a nightmare.  I hereby request compensation for my time and inconvenience, as explained below.

On Tuesday, February 13, 2018, I spoke to a nice CSR named Trevon. He was helpful transferring my service to T-Mobile and overnighting four SIM cards. I told Trevon that I was going to activate 4 devices: 2 unlocked iPhones, another iPhone that I did not know if it was locked or unlocked, and a Galaxy Note 8 under contract with Verizon. Trevon said that it would be no problem and explained how to proceed with the Verizon device.

On Thursday, February 15, I called T-Mobile to activate the phones with the new SIM cards to my new network. My call was directed to the Philippines. I tried to explain what I had discussed with Trevon to the Filipino CSR, who became confused and told me that I needed to go to a physical store.

Inconvenienced, I went to T-Mobile store 5387 (Pentagon City Mall, Arlington, VA) and was very unhappy with the poor customer service.  I initially spoke with Julio, who stated that the SIM cards were no good and needed to be replaced. Incredulous, I asked to speak with the manager, James, who concurred and said the activation process would take 30-45 minutes.

Neither Julio nor James was very knowledgeable; therefore, I stepped out to call T-Mobile to confirm. Within 30 minutes, I spoke with eight CSRs, none of whom could help. The CSRs requested a PIN, which I never received. Desperate, I went back into the store and agreed to the activation. However, I became concerned when James used the same SIM cards he had told me were no good. I initially entered the store at 12:27 pm and left at 3:50 pm—after almost 4 hours of poor, humiliating customer service.