T-Mobile's false terms & conditions for Costco rebates

magenta2738723

I'm new to T-Mobile. I was attracted to the "Uncarrier" when I learned about the "2017 Q3 Costco $300 Off iPhone Launch Offer" that started on 9/22 for the iPhone 8 launch. The exact "Terms & Conditions" were, with emphasis added:

"Limited time offer, subject to change. Buy an iPhone 8, 8 Plus, 7 or 7 Plus and get $300 off via rebate. At participating locations. Qualifying service and trade-in of paid-off iPhone 6 or newer required. Full device tax due at sale. 12max/account Not combinable with some offers (e.g., Carrier Freedom). Rebate via Prepaid MasterCard® Card issued by Sunrise Banks N.A., Member FDIC, pursuant to a license from MasterCard International Incorporated. MasterCard is a registered trademark of MasterCard International Incorporated. Use of this card constitutes acceptance of the terms and conditions stated in the Cardholder Agreement. Cards will not have cash access and can be used everywhere MasterCard debit cards are accepted. Must be active and in good standing when card is processed. Allow 8 weeks."

T-Mobile listed this promotion for over 30 days at https://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-36142 with this description:

2017 Q3 Costco $300 Off iPhone Launch Offer

Get $300 off the purchase of an iPhone 7, 7 Plus, 8, or 8 Plus after rebate when you purchase it at Full Retail Price at Costco and trade in a functional iPhone 7, 7 Plus, 6s, 6s Plus, 6, or 6 Plus.

• Promotional Window: September 22 - TBA
      • You must meet all of these requirements during the promotional window:
        • Already have or activate at least one new voice line per device purchase.
        • Purchase a new iPhone 7, 7 Plus, 8, or 8 Plus at Full Retail Price.
        • Submit a request on the T-Mobile Rebates page using promo code 17COST300NEW within 30 days of purchase.