kemyst

I am new to T-Mobile using iPhone 6 & 7 trying to run WeChat voice. This has always worked on my previous carrier & still works on my iPhone with WiFi. When I use T-Mobile LTE, WeChat voice calls can dial, but never connect. I have tried on both iPhone 6 & iPhone 7, but neither of them can connect when using T-Mobile. Does anyone else have WeChat voice working on TMobile? Any suggestions on what could be going on?

All replies

• tmo_mike_c

Re: WeChat

Hello kemyst!

First off, welcome to support and thanks for joining the T-Mobile family!

I'm guessing these devices are from your previous carrier? I'd make sure that you have strong signal when connected to T-Mobile and test the data through the browser to see if that works if you haven't already. Does the WeChat give you any error message that pops up? Another thing you'll want to check is your phones' software versions. Making sure they're up to date will help make insure the software and the app don't fuss with each other and gives them the best chance of working for you. Please keep us posted on this and let us know how things go.

• kemyst

hi Mike. 

Thanks for the welcome. TMo support was really great. The phone is not an issue, it affects all phones whether they are originally TMo or transferred from other carriers. The issue is incompatibility between IPv6 on TMo & WeChat voice. AT&T have an older network that only supports IPv4. Android phones can disable IPv6, so they can work on just v4. Unfortunately,  all IPhones are hardwired to support dual stack & IPv4 cannot be disabled.

Now it's time to log an issue with Tencent, the makers of WeChat, to upgrade their client

• tmo_mike_c

Ah I see. You bring up a good point and the I've heard of IPv6 being problematic with other applications in the past. I'm curious, has Tencent made it fairly easy to log this issue with their team?

• kemyst