shpphone

I'm sorry to say that I've got a terrible story.  I have been a TMO customer for over 14 years. Over that time, I have constantly talked-up TMO -- how different it is from other service providers.  Over that time, I have convinced my sister, my parents and some of my colleagues to switch.  Really.

As you all know, TMO has been pushing the T-Mobile One plan for a while now. I had always resisted because I was happy with my Simple Choice plan and 15% Military Discount (I'm a veteran).

About two months ago, I called in to TMO customer service because there were problems with (overcharges on) my bill - a problem, incidentally, that I seemed to be having more and more frequently in the past year.  I spoke to nice CSR who fixed the billing issue; we began chatting about the T-Mobile One promotion that was going on. You all know it:  2 Lines for $100 etc.  The CSR and I spent a great deal of time going over all of the details of how the change would affect me.  I'd loose my two free lines. I'd loose the free 500 MB/month iPad line, etc.  The key, not surprisingly, was the Military Discount.  He purported to check and confirmed that the discount would apply to the 5 phone lines I would be switching.  With the Military Discount, it just about broke even for me -- even though I'd be losing the free lines.  I figured that given the additional data -- which my son would appreciate -- it made sense.  I made the switch.

So flash forward to today.  I looked at my bill and (sure enough) there were overcharges.  They'd charged me a payment for the SyncUp device (which is supposed to be free with my 2 GB data plan.)  They'd charged me for a new line that I added that was supposed to be free.  But the big problem was the Military Discount was only being applied to 2 of my 6 lines.