Digits Beta - My detailed review

justins567

So, I've been using Digits for several weeks now and I wanted to share my experience for others to gauge Digits.

My Background - I currently work in IT for one of the top 5 largest E-commerce (NOT Amazon)  companies in the US.  I work as a field engineer and programmer. Part of my role as a field engineer is to help with tier 3 /final point help desk resolution for associates.    As a programmer, I help build internal applications for automation and time saving services.

This has required me to have a cell phone # outside my personal number, and like many I for some time carried 2 phones until I got sick of it.   Then I tried Google Fi, which was decent except the hang outs app on iOS almost never got updates and eventually became more frustrating the worth the time.  I looked at several IP / cloud phone # app's but I really need something reliable and consistent.

My Digits beta situation - Currently I am set up to have my T-Mobile number as a "virtual number". I then use the Digits app on my personal iPhone 7 plus that is tied to a Verizon phone number.

My Experience thus far -  So far,  I have to rate my experience as very pleasant. It has mostly worked as I would hope for it to and has worked EXCEPTIONALLY better then Google fi/voice via hangouts.  I can see Digits becoming a huge game changer to the mobile industry if T-Mobile keeps up the hard work.

Pro's

1. I have not missed a single call or text via the Digits app and I'm 100% comfortable not carrying the phone my T-Mobile sim is actually used in. 99% of the time my phone with the Tmo sim is actually turned off and in my desk drawer.

2. Its worked consistently.  I have had very minimal issues with the app functioning.

3. Support from the beta support team has been amazing!  personal shoutout to tmo_chris. He's stuck with me through a couple interesting quirks and always got back to me timely.. Thanks Chris for making the experience that much better!