Question regarding S2 and bluetooth

ransomv

I understand that for DIGITS purposes we shouldn't have a connection from our S2 to our phone.

That being said, I want to use Bluetooth headphones paired with my watch to make/receive phone calls, listen to music, etc.

Is there some way to turn Bluetooth on for my S2, allow it to pair with my headphones, but NOT pair with my phone?

Also, I am new to S2, so I will need to connect to my phone now and again to do setup related tasks.

All replies

• tmo_tim_b

Re: Question regarding S2 and bluetooth

Hello ransomv

I ran this by one of my peers to make sure I was thinking correctly. The best way to set it up so that you can pair it with your headphones and not the phone is either from initial set-up or after a master reset and putting the S2 in stand alone mode. You shouldn't need to connect the device to the phone after that. The issue is that if you establishing pairing with the phone (for setup related task) after that, the only way to remove that pairing is to master reset the S2 - which defeats the purpose of connecting it in the first place.

Please let me know if that helps or if we need to get further clarification for you on this. Thank you so much.

• ransomv

I think I just found something better.

FYI:

If you unpair the bluetooth connection from the S2, it will wipe out the configuration. The Apps, Notices, etc. all get reset to factory settings.

Unpairing the bluetooth connection from the phone doesn't wipe out the configuration, but you have to go through the process of re-pairing the bluetooth devices.

Easy Answer:

1. Open the Gear app on the phone.
            2. Scroll down and select "Gear connection"
            3. At the top, turn off the Gear connection.

This disconnects the phone from the S2, but leaves the bluetooth pairing in place.

Then, you can go to the same place and turn the Gear connection back on when you want to make adjustments to the S2 configuration.