Very slow internet speed

jcap334

I have to bump this thread and I am glad that I am not alone in this ordeal. Over the last year or so, LTE speeds in many areas have plummeted. At my Apartment in Bensalem, PA, I am lucky to break 4Mbit speeds, and most of the time tests show between 0.5 - 2 Mbits. I have my own internet WIFI in my Apt. so that isn't a big deal to me.

I have an unlimited data plan and never use more than 8 - 12GB of data per month so I know I am not being throttled/de-prioritized. When I am rural/suburban areas with LTE, I get excellent speeds most of the time, exceeding 50Mbits. When I am in highly populated areas of cities, that is where the problems are lately. In many parts of Philadelphia, PA, and Trenton, NJ where I regularly work as a field tech, my Galaxy Note 5 (Whether on Band 4 or 12), is nearly unusable on T-Mobile's network. I've submitted numerous complaints with T-Force with facebook messages and it's nothing but the runaround "We're improving our network, etc etc give us time. We have submitted a ticket to engineering. blah blah blah". Back in January I was told by T-Force that they expect to see improvements in Trenton, NJ no later than the beginning of Feb. Tomorrow will be March 1st and in Trenton, NJ today speeds are still abysmal. Speedtests all around Trenton, NJ rarely exceed 1Mbit and a many times just time out. The average speedtest in Trenton, NJ shows anywhere between 0.1 - 0.8Mbits with high latency (150 - 300 ping). Before anybody tries to tell me this is my phone, my girlfriend has a Nexus 6P and when we're together and I am getting slow speeds, she gets the same slow speeds on her phone.

I am just fed up with the sluggish performance I've been getting in many areas with T-Mobile and if this isn't fixed soon, I'm going to have to sadly switch to Verizon or AT&T. I guess the old saying "You get what you pay for" rings true.

All replies

• tmo_mike_c

Re: Very slow internet speed