Reset: Kyocera Hydro XTRM

Learn how to wipe or master reset the Kyocera Hydro XTRM through the menu or hardware keys. Find out more on this page.

 

Cache partition

Master reset

Safe mode

 

 

Cache partition

Wipe cache partition

If the phone is not working correctly, you may need to master reset it and also clear the cache partition. These two resets clear different parts of the phone storage. Unlike a master reset, wiping the cache partition does not delete your personal data.

 

To wipe the cache partition, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all necessary data that is on the internal memory.
  2. Turn off the device.
  3. Press and hold the Volume Down key.
  4. Continue to hold the Volume Down and press and hold the Power key.
  5. Release only the Power key after the phone has vibrated and the first Kyocera screen appears.
  6. Continue to hold the Volume Down key through an additional Kyocera screen until the Android system recovery screen appears.
  7. Release the Volume Down key.
  8. Use the Volume keys to scroll to wipe data cache partition and press the Power key to select.
  9. Once the wipe has completed, use the Volume Down key to highlight and select reboot device now.
  10. The phone will restart.

 

Back to top

 

 

Master reset

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory. See: Back up & restore.
  2. Back up all necessary data that is on the internal memory.
  3. From any Home screen, tap the All apps icon.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Scroll to 'PERSONAL,' then tap Backup & reset.
  6. Tap Factory data reset.
  7. If your phone is password protected, you'll be prompted to enter your Pattern, PIN, or Password.
  8. Tap Erase everything.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory. See: Back up & restore.
  2. Back up all necessary data that is on the internal memory.
  3. Turn off the device.
  4. Press and hold the Volume Down key.
  5. Continue to hold the Volume Down and press and hold the Power key.
  6. Release only the Power key after the phone has vibrated and the first Kyocera screen appears.
  7. Continue to hold the Volume Down key through an additional Kyocera screen until the Android system recovery screen appears.
  8. Release the Volume Down key.
  9. Use the Volume keys to scroll to wipe data/factory reset and press the Power key to select.
  10. Use the Volume keys to scroll down to Yes - erase all user data and press the Power key to select.
  11. Use the Volume keys to scroll down to reboot system now and press the Power key to select.
  12. The phone will restart.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Safe mode

Turn on and use safe mode

Safe mode allows you to turn on the device with third-party apps disabled. Then you can easily remove all apps that may be causing a conflict or software problem.

 

  1. Press the Power button on your device.
  2. Touch & hold the Power off option in the dialog box.
  3. Touch OK in the following dialog to start safe mode.

 

 

Turn off safe mode

  1. Press and hold the Power button on your device.
  2. Tap the Power off option.
  3. Press and hold the Power button again to reboot the device.

 

 

Back to top