Reset: Samsung T229

Learn how to wipe or master reset the Samsung T229 through the menu or hardware keys. Find out more on this page:

 

Cache partition

Master reset

Safe mode

 

 

Cache partition

Wipe cache partition

If the phone is not working correctly, you may need to master reset it and also clear the cache partition. These two resets clear different parts of the phone storage. Unlike a master reset, wiping the cache partition does not delete your personal data.

 

To wipe the cache partition, follow these steps:

 

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Master reset

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. From the main screen, select Menu.
  2. Select Settings and then Phone settings.
  3. Select Security.
  4. Select Reset and then Reset settings.
  5. Scroll to and select from the following:
    • Phone settings: Only handset settings return to default values.
    • Display settings: Only display settings return to default values.
    • Sound settings: Only sound settings return to default values.
    • Bluetooth settings: Only Bluetooth settings return to default values.
    • Call settings: Only call settings return to default values.
    • All
  1. Select Reset.
  2. Select Yes.
  3. Enter a four to eight-digit code.
  4. Select OK.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. From the main screen, select Menu.
  2. Select Settings and then Phone settings.
  3. Select Security.
  4. Select Reset and then Restore factory settings.
  5. Select from the following:
    • Clear user data: This deletes all the information saved to the handset, including picture messages and phone book entries.
    • Restore settings: This changes your settings to factory default values.
    • Restore and clear: This restores your handset to factory default settings.
    • Note: The default password is six zeros.
  1. Enter 000000.
  2. Select OK.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Safe mode

Turn on and use safe mode

Safe mode allows you to turn on the device with third-party apps disabled. Then you can easily remove all apps that may be causing a conflict or software problem.

 

To turn on safe mode and use it to fix app problems, follow these steps:

 

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device.

 

 

Turn off safe mode

To turn off safe mode, follow these steps:

 

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device.

 

 

Back to top