Reset: Samsung Sidekick 4G

Learn how to wipe or master reset the Samsung Sidekick 4G through the menu or hardware keys. Find out more on this page:

 

Cache partition

Master reset

Safe mode

 

 

Cache partition

Wipe cache partition

If the phone is not working correctly, you may need to master reset it and also clear the cache partition. These two resets clear different parts of the phone storage. Unlike a master reset, wiping the cache partition does not delete your personal data.

 

To wipe the cache partition, follow these steps:

  1. Save any open files, and back up all  necessary data on the internal memory if the device is responsive and can synchronize files.
  2. If the phone is plugged into the  charger or USB cable, unplug it.
  3. Remove the battery.
  4. Re-insert the battery.
  5. Hold the Volume Up and Volume Down keys.
  6. Press and hold the the Power key while continuing to hold both Volume keys.
  7. Release the keys when the Samsung logo appears on the screen.
  8. Press the Volume Down key to scroll to delete all cache data.
  9. Press the Power key to select it.
  10. Wait for a few seconds as the phone clears information.
  11. Press the Power key to select reboot system now.
  12. Wait as the phone restarts.

 

Back to top

 

 

Master reset

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory. See: Back up & restore
  2. Back up all necessary data and synchronize files.
  3. From any Home screen, press the Menu key.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Privacy.
  6. Clear the Back up my data check box.
    • Note: If this check box is selected, the settings that caused problems before may return.
  7. Tap Factory data reset.
  8. Read the message about erasing data.
  9. Tap Reset phone.
  10. Tap Erase everything.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these

 

  1. Back up all necessary data and synchronize files. See: Back up & restore
  2. Turn off the phone.
    • Note: If the phone is unresponsive and does not turn off, remove the battery and then re-insert it.
  3. Hold down the Volume Up + Volume Down keys and Power key simultaneously.
  4. When the Samsung logo appears on the screen, wait a few seconds, the Android system recovery screen will appear and release the keys .
    • Timing is key, if you do not release the keys at the right moment, the phone will restart and you will need to begin again.
  5. Press the Volume Down key to select Delete all user data when the Android master reset menu appears.
  6. Press the Power key to confirm your selection.
  7. Press the Volume Down key to select Yes – delete all user data.
  8. Press the Power key to confirm your selection.
  9. Press the Power key to select reboot system now.

 

Back to top

 

 

Safe mode

Turn on and use safe mode

Safe mode allows you to turn on the device with third-party apps disabled. Then you can easily remove all apps that may be causing a conflict or software problem.

 

To turn on safe mode and use it to fix app problems, follow these steps:

 

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device

 

 

Turn off safe mode

To turn off safe mode, follow these steps:

 

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device

 

Back to top