Reset: Samsung Gravity SMART T589

Learn how to wipe or master reset the Samsung Gravity SMART T589 through the menu or hardware keys. Find out more on this page:

 

Cache partition

Master reset

Safe mode

 

 

Cache partition

Wipe cache partition

If the phone is not working correctly, you may need to master reset it and also clear the cache partition. These two resets clear different parts of the phone storage. Unlike a master reset, wiping the cache partition does not delete your personal data.

 

To wipe the cache partition, follow these steps:

 

  1. Turn the device off.
  2. Slide open the phone.
  3. Simultaneously press and hold the Power key and the T key on the slide-out keyboard until the Android system recovery screen displays.
  4. Press the Volume key down to scroll to wipe cache partition.
  5. Press the Power key to select.
  6. Wait a few moments while the phone clears the cache partition.
  7. Press the Volume key down to scroll to Reboot system now.
  8. Press the Power key to confirm.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Master reset

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory. See: Back up & restore.
  2. From the Home screen Tap the Menu key.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Tap Privacy.
  5. Tap Factory data reset.
  6. Tap Reset phone.
  7. Tap Erase everything.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory. See: Back up & restore.
  2. Turn the device off.
  3. Slide open the phone.
  4. Simultaneously press and hold the Power key and the T key on the slide-out keyboard until the Android system recovery screen displays.
  5. Press the Volume key down to scroll to wipe data / factory reset.
  6. Press the Power key to select.
  7. Press the Volume key down to select Yes - Wipe user data.
  8. Press the Power key.
  9. Press the Volume key down to scroll to Reboot system now.
  10. Press the Power key to confirm.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Safe mode

Turn on and use safe mode

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device.

 

 

Turn off safe mode

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device.

 

 

Back to top