Reset: Huawei Summit

Learn how to wipe or master reset the Huawei Summit through the menu or hardware keys. Find out more on this page:

 

Cache partition

Master reset

Safe mode

 

 

Cache partition

Wipe cache partition

If the phone is not working correctly, you may need to master reset it and also clear the cache partition. These two resets clear different parts of the phone storage. Unlike a master reset, wiping the cache partition does not delete your personal data.

 

To wipe the cache partition, follow these steps:

 

  1. Remove the battery and then put the battery back in.
  2. Press the Power key and the Volume up key simultaneously. Hold for eight seconds.
  3. Using the Volume key, scroll to Wipe cache partition.
  4. Press the Power key.
  5. When the message "Cache wipe complete" appears, scroll to reboot system now.
  6. Press the Power key to reboot.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Master reset

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory. See: Back up & restore
  2. Back up all necessary data that is on the internal memory.
  3. From any Home screen, tap the Menu key.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Privacy.
  6. Tap Factory data reset.
  7. Tap to check (select) Erase SD card.
  8. Tap Reset phone.
  9. Tap Erase everything.
  10. Tap OK.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory. See: Back up & restore
  2. Back up all necessary data that is on the internal memory.
  3. Remove the battery and then put the battery back in.
  4. Press the Power key and the Volume up key simultaneously. Hold for eight seconds.
  5. Using the Volume key, scroll to Wipe data/factory reset.
  6. Press the Power key.
  7. Using the Volume key, scroll to Yes.
  8. Press the Power key.
  9. When the message "Data wipe complete" appears, scroll to reboot system now.
  10. Press the Power key to reboot.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Safe mode

Turn on and use safe mode

Safe mode allows you to turn on the device with third-party apps disabled. Then you can easily remove all apps that may be causing a conflict or software problem.

 

To turn on safe mode and use it to fix app problems, follow these steps:

 

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device.

 

 

Turn off safe mode

To turn off safe mode, follow these steps:

 

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device.

 

 

Back to top