Device resets: Samsung Galaxy A6

Learn how to master reset the Samsung Galaxy A6 using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory. If you have signed into a Samsung account on the device, you have activated Anti-theft and will need your Samsung credentials to finish the master reset.
  2. From the Home screen, swipe up on an empty spot to open the Apps tray.
  3. Tap Settings > Accounts and backup > Backup and restore.
  4. Tap the following sliders to desired setting:
    • Back up my data
    • Automatic restore
  5. Tap the Back key (bottom right) until you reach the main Settings menu.
  6. Tap General Management > Reset > Factory data reset.
  7. Scroll to the bottom of the screen, then tap RESET > DELETE ALL.
  8. If you have screen lock turned on, enter your credentials.
  9. If prompted to verify your Samsung account, enter the password, then tap CONFIRM.
  10. Wait for the device to reset.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Turn off the device.
  3. Press and hold the Power key and Volume Up key until the device vibrates, then release it.
  4. Use the Volume keys to scroll down to Wipe data/factory reset, then use the Power key to select it.
  5. Use the Volume keys to scroll down to Yes, then use the Power key to select it.

 

Reset settings

This device allows you to reset the settings to their defaults without doing a full factory reset. Any phone customizations will be discarded but personal data and settings of downloaded apps will not be affected.

 

  1. From the Home screen, swipe up on an empty spot to open the Apps tray.
  2. Tap Settings > General Management > Reset > Reset settings.
  3. Tap RESET SETTINGS.
  4. If you have set up a PIN, enter it.
  5. Tap RESET SETTINGS.
  6. The device will restart to perform the reset of settings.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off by the customer will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: OFF

 

To perform a network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. From the Home screen, swipe up on an empty spot to open the Apps tray.
  2. Tap Settings > General Management > Reset > Reset network settings.
  3. Tap RESET SETTINGS.
  4. If you have set up a PIN, enter it.
  5. Tap RESET SETTINGS. Once complete, a confirmation window will appear.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

 

  1. Press and hold the Power and Volume down key for up to 45 seconds.
  2. Wait as the device restarts.