Device resets: OnePlus 6T

Learn how to master reset the OnePlus 6T using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It doesn't delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. From the Home screen, swipe and tap Settings.
  3. Tap System > Reset options > Erase all data.
  4. Tap RESET PHONE.
  5. Enter your PIN or Password, then tap Next.
  6. Tap ERASE EVERYTHING. The device will reboot and begin resetting to factory settings.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It doesn't delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card. If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

 

  1. Press and hold the Volume down and Power button at the same time.
  2. When the OnePlus logo appears, release the Power button, but continue holding the Volume down button.
  3. At the Password screen, enter the Password or PIN number that you use to unlock your device. When done, tap Ok.
  4. Tap English.
  5. Tap Wipe data and cache.
  6. Tap Reset everything (Music, pics, etc).
  7. Tap This can not be undone, continue?
  8. Tap Reboot to restart your phone.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes occur when you reset network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks are deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections are deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices are deleted.
  • Background data sync settings are turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off are reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode is set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type is set to best.

 

The device connections status default to the following when the device is powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. From the Home screen, swipe up, then tap Settings.
  2. Tap System > Reset Options > Reset Wi-Fi, mobile & Bluetooth.
  3. Tap RESET SETTINGS.
  4. Enter your PIN or Password, then tap Next.
  5. Tap RESET SETTINGS again to confirm.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. Use a soft reset to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device has an internal battery that can't be removed. It doesn't cause loss of personal data on the device.

 

Press and hole the Power button and Volume up key until the device powers off. This can take up to 30 seconds.