Device resets: Apple iPad Pro 12.9"

Learn how to master reset the Apple iPad Pro 12.9" using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. If Apple FMiP Activation Lock is enabled, you will need access to the internet to complete these steps.
  3. From the Home screen, tap Settings > General > Reset.
  4. Tap desired option:
    • Reset All Settings Use this option before attempting a master reset.
    • Erase All Content and Settings Use this option for master reset. Be sure to select Erase all & keep data plans.
    • Reset Network Settings This will delete any saved Wi-Fi profiles.
    • Reset Keyboard Dictionary
    • Reset Home Screen Layout
    • Reset Location & Privacy
  5. Type in the device password if prompted.
  6. Confirm selection.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, there is no master reset using hardware keys. You must use Apple iTunes to force a software restore.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off by the customer will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: ON
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. From the Home screen, tap Settings > General > Reset.
  2. Tap Reset Network Settings
  3. Type in the device password if prompted.
  4. Confirm selection.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

 

  1. Reset the iPhone by holding the sleep/wake button at the top right of the device and the home button at the bottom center of the face at the same time.
  2. Hold them both until you see the screen go black.
  3. Wait until the white Apple logo appears.
  4. When this happens, you can let go.
  5. The device will reboot.