Device resets: Samsung galaxy J3 Prime

Learn how to master reset the Samsung galaxy J3 Prime using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory. If you have signed into a Google account on the device, you have activated Anti-theft and will need your Google credentials to finish the Master reset.
  2. From any Home screen, tap the Apps icon.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Tap Cloud and accounts.
  5. Tap Backup and restore.
  6. If desired, tap Back up my data to move the slider to ON or OFF.
  7. If desired, tap Restore to move the slider to ON or OFF.
  8. Tap the back key twice to return to the Settings menu, then tap General Management.
  9. Tap Reset.
  10. Tap Factory data reset.
  11. Tap Reset device.
  12. If you have screen lock turned on, enter your PIN or password.
  13. Tap Continue.
  14. Tap Delete all.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory. If you have signed into a Google account on the device, you have activated Anti-theft and will need your Google credentials to finish the Master reset.
  2. Turn off the device.
  3. Press and hold the Volume Up key and the Home key, then press and hold the Power key.
  4. When the device logo screen displays, release only the Power key
  5. When the Android logo displays, release all keys ('Installing system update' will show for about 30 - 60 seconds before showing the Android system recovery menu options).
  6. Press the Volume down key several times key to highlight 'wipe data / factory reset.'
  7. Press Power button to select.
  8. Press the Volume down key until 'Yes -- delete all user data' is highlighted.
  9. Press Power button to select and start the master reset.
  10. When the master reset is complete, 'Reboot system now' is highlighted.
  11. Press the Power key to restart the device.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off by the customer will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. From any Home screen, tap the Apps icon.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap General management.
  4. Tap Reset.
  5. Tap Reset network settings.
  6. Tap RESET SETTINGS.
  7. Tap RESET SETTINGS to confirm.