Device resets: LG K20

Learn how to master reset the LG K20 using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

Tab View

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap the General tab.
  4. Under 'PHONE MANAGEMENT,' tap Backup & reset.
  5. Select or clear the following check boxes:
    • Back up my data
    • Automatic restore
  6. Tap Backup account and follow the steps to create Google backup account, if necessary.
  7. Under RESET, tap Factory data reset.
  8. Review the warning message, then select or clear Erase SD card.
  9. Tap RESET PHONE.
  10. Enter PIN if prompted, then tap OK.
  11. Tap Delete all.
  12. Tap RESET.

 

List View

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Under 'PERSONAL,' tap Backup & reset.
  4. Select or clear the following check boxes:
    • Back up my data
    • Automatic restore
  5. Tap Backup account and follow the steps to create Google backup account, if necessary.
  6. Under 'RESET,' tap Factory data reset.
  7. Review the warning message, then select or clear Erase SD card.
  8. Tap RESET PHONE.
  9. Enter PIN if prompted, then tap OK.
  10. Tap Delete all.
  11. Tap RESET.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card. If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Turn off the device.
  3. Press and hold the Power and Volume down buttons.
  4. When the LG logo appears, quickly release and then re-hold the Power button while continuing to hold the Volume down button.
  5. 'Factory data reset' appears.
  6. Use the Volume down button to highlight Yes.
  7. Press the Power button to confirm.
  8. Erase all user data and restore default settings' appears.
  9. Use the Volume down button to highlight Yes.
  10. Press the Power button to reset the device.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off by the customer will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. On the 'General' tab, tap Backup & reset.
  4. Tap Network settings reset > RESET SETTINGS.
  5. Tap Reset Settings.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

 

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device. Press and hold the Power button (located on the back) until the device powers off (approximately 5 seconds) then release.