Device resets: ZTE Cymbal

Learn how to master reset the ZTE Cymbal using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. From the Home screen, press Menu.
  3. Scroll and select Settings.
  4. Scroll and select Personal.
  5. Scroll and select Reset.
  6. Select Factory data reset.
  7. Scroll and select RESET PHONE.
  8. Scroll and select ERASE EVERYTHING.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card. If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Turn the device off.
  3. Press and hold the Volume Up button.
  4. Press and hold the Power button until the device vibrates, then release. Continue holding the Volume Up button.
  5. When you see the reset menu, release the Volume Up button.
  6. Use the Volume buttons to highlight wipe data, then press the Power key.
  7. Use the Volume buttons to highlight Yes, wipe all data, then press the Power key.
  8. Use the Volume buttons to highlight power down, then press the Power key.
  9. Turn the device on normally.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. From the Home screen, press Menu.
  2. Scroll to and select Settings > General Settings > Mobile networks > Access Point Names.
  3. Press the left option button, then scroll to and select Reset to default > Continue.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

 

To soft reset this device with hardware keys, press and hold the Power button for 10-15 seconds.