Device resets: Google Nexus 6

Learn how to master reset the Google Nexus 6 using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. From any Home screen, tap the All apps icon.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Scroll to 'Personal', then tap Backup & reset.
  5. Tap Factory data reset.
  6. If your phone is password protected, you'll be prompted to enter your Pattern, PIN, or Password.
  7. Tap RESET PHONE.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Turn off the device.
  3. Press and hold the Volume down button, then press and hold the Power button at the same time until the phone turns on.
  4. Press the Volume down button twice to highlight 'Recovery mode'.
  5. Press the Power button to start recovery mode. An Android robot with a red exclamation mark will display.
  6. While holding down the Power button, press and release the Volume up button. The 'Android system recovery' menu will display.
  7. Use the volume buttons to scroll to 'Wipe data/factory reset', then press the Power button to select it.
  8. Scroll down to "Yes - erase all user data", then press the Power button to select it.
    If your phone becomes unresponsive at any point during these steps, you can restart it by holding down the Power button for several seconds.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off by the customer will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. From any Home screen, tap the All apps icon.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Scroll to 'Personal', then tap Backup & reset.
  4. Tap Network settings reset.
  5. Tap RESET SETTINGS.
  6. Tap RESET SETTINGS again to confirm.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

 

Press and hold the Power button for up to 10 seconds to reset the device.