Device resets: BlackBerry Classic

Learn how to master reset the BlackBerry Classic using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. From any Home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen.
  3. Tap Settings > Security and Privacy > Security wipe.
  4. You must decrypt you media card before the security wipe. Otherwise, the card will become inaccessible.
  5. Enter blackberry into the text field and tap Delete Data.
    • When the security wipe is complete, the device will power off.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. From any Home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen.
  2. Tap Settings > Networks and Connections > Mobile Network > APN > Reset Defaults > Restore.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

 

  1. Press and hold the volume up and down buttons at the same time.
  2. Wait for the device screen to go dark, then release the buttons.
  3. The device will automatically power back on.