Device resets: Alcatel ONETOUCH Fierce XL (Android)

Learn how to master reset the Alcatel ONETOUCH Fierce XL (Android) using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. From the home screen, tap Apps > Settings > Backup & reset
  3. Tap Factory data reset > RESET PHONE > ERASE EVERYTHING.
  4. The device will reboot when finished.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card. If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. Turn off the device.
  3. Press and hold the Volume up and Power keys at the same.
  4. When the Alcatel startup screen appears, release the Power key.
  5. When the Android system recovery screen appears, release the Volume up key.
  6. Use the Volume up/down key to select 'Wipe data/factory reset'.
  7. Press the Power key to confirm.
  8. Press the Volume down key to select 'Yes -- delete all user data'.
  9. Press the Power key to confirm.
  10. Press the Power key to select 'Reboot system now'.
  11. The phone will reset.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. From the home screen, tap Apps > Settings > Backup & reset.
  2. Tap Network settings reset > RESET SETTINGS.
  3. Tap RESET SETTINGS again to confirm.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

 

Press and hold the Power button for 10 seconds to manually reset the phone.