Device resets: HTC Desire 530

Learn how to master reset the HTC Desire 530 using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. From any Home screen, tap Apps.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Scroll to 'PERSONAL,' then tap Backup & reset.
  5. Update the following as desired:
    • Backup my data (on/off)
    • Automatic restore (on/off)
  6. Tap Reset phone.
  7. If screen lock is enabled, enter screen unlock information to proceed.
  8. If desired, select Erase SD card.
  9. Tap OK.
  10. Review the 'Warning' message and select either:
    • CANCEL
    • OK
  11. If you tap OK, the phone will perform a master reset.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card. If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. Press and hold the Power button
  3. Tap Power off.
  4. Press and hold the Volume Down button.
  5. Press and hold the Power button for 5 seconds to turn the phone on.
  6. Continue holding the Volume Down button.
  7. Release the Volume Down button when the black screen with red and blue lines of text appears.
  8. Press the Volume Down button repeatedly until reboot to bootloader is highlighted, then select it with the Power button.
  9. The device will display a white screen with colored text.
  10. Press the Volume Down button repeatedly until 'BOOT TO RECOVERY MODE' is highlighted, then select it with the Power button.
  11. The screen will display the white HTC screen, and then turn black. After several seconds, a picture of the phone with a red triangle and exclamation mark will appear.
  12. Hold the Power button, while pressing and releasing the Volume up button. This can be done at any time after the screen turns black. If this button combination is pressed before the image of the phone with the red triangle appears, it may take several seconds for the recovery menu to appear at the top of the screen.
  13. Another black screen with red and blue text will appear.
  14. Press the Volume Down button repeatedly until wipe data/factory reset is highlighted, then select it with the Power button.
  15. Press the Volume Down button repeatedly until Yes – delete all user data is highlighted, then select it with the Power button.
  16. Once the data wipe is complete, make sure reboot system now is selected and press the Power button.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. From any Home screen, tap Apps.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Scroll to 'PERSONAL,' then tap Backup & reset.
  4. Tap Network settings reset.
  5. Tap RESET SETTINGS > RESET SETTINGS.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device. To do a soft reset, press and hold the Power and Volume down keys for 15-20 seconds to force the device to restart.