Device resets: Google Nexus 7

Learn how to master reset the Google Nexus 7 using the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. From the home screen, tap Apps.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Under 'Personal,' tap Backup & reset.
  5. Tap the following to set as desired:
    • Back up my data
    • Backup account
    • Automatic restore
  6. Tap Factory data reset.
  7. Tap RESET TABLET.
  8. Tap ERASE EVERYTHING.

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. Turn off the device.
  3. Press and hold the Volume Down and Power keys at the same time for about 10 seconds.
  4. An image of an Android lying on its back will appear.
  5. Press the Volume Down key twice until 'Recovery mode' appears on the screen.
  6. Press the Power key to restart in Recovery mode.
  7. An image of an Android with a red triangle appears.
  8. Press the Power key and Volume Up keys simultaneously.
  9. Use the Volume keys to scroll to 'wipe data/factory reset' and press the Power key to select.
  10. Use the Volume keys to scroll down to 'Yes - erase all user data' and press the Power key to select.
  11. When wipe data/factory reset is complete, press the Power key to reboot the device.

 

Reset network settings

Resetting network settings resets all data connections back to the out of the box factory defaults. The following changes will occur by performing a Reset of network settings.

 

  • Stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted.
  • Stored tethered connections will be deleted.
  • Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted.
  • Background data sync settings will be turned on.
  • Data restrictive settings in applications that were manually turned on/off will be reset to the default setting.
  • Network selection mode will be set to automatic.
  • Preferred mobile network type will be set to best.

 

The following device connections status will default to when the device was being powered on for the first time.

 

  • Airplane mode: OFF
  • Bluetooth: OFF
  • Data roaming: OFF
  • Mobile hotspot: OFF
  • VPN: OFF
  • Mobile data: ON
  • Wi-Fi: ON

 

To perform a Network reset, follow these steps.

 

  1. Back up data on the internal memory.
  2. From the home screen, tap Apps.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Under 'Personal,' tap Backup & reset.
  5. Tap Network settings reset.
  6. Tap Reset settings.
  7. Tap Reset settings.

 

Soft reset with hardware keys

A soft reset is a simulated battery removal. This is used to power a device off when the screen is frozen or unresponsive and the device it has an internal battery that cannot be removed. It does not cause loss of personal data on the device.

 

  1. Press and hold the Power key for at least 20 seconds until the device turns off.
  2. Press and hold Power to turn the device back on.