Data speed FAQs

    Find answers to commonly asked questions about data speed reductions.

     

     

     

    How does it work?

    Some T-Mobile data features have a threshold on the amount of data you can use at full speed during a billing cycle. After you pass the threshold, you still have unlimited access to data, but the data speed is reduced.

     

    Data speed reduction ensures that you have a positive web experience and helps you avoid overage charges, while allowing you to stay within the costs of your plan. Even with data speed reduction, you can have a good experience with many data services, such as email, general web browsing, and Facebook.

     

    Example: You have the Unlimited 2 GB data feature that provides 2 GB of full-speed access on the T-Mobile network. You use the data feature for web browsing at full speed, and to download videos, pictures, and email. Once you use 2 GB of data, your data speed is reduced for the remainder of the bill cycle, but you still have unlimited access to data on the T-Mobile network.

     

     

    Do certain plans have differences in data speed reduction?

    Yes. If you have a plan that was available between November 13, 2010, and March 24, 2013, data speed is reduced to (at most) 50 Kbps (comparable to dial-up) when data usage exceeds the data speed reduction threshold. Mobile Internet and data-only plan customers who reach this threshold have their data speed reduced to 100 Kbps.

     

    If you have a plan that was available after March 24, 2013, data speed is reduced to (at most) 128 Kbps when data usage exceeds the data speed reduction threshold for data features, mobile Internet, and data-only plans.

     

    • Any T-Mobile web feature uses data speed reduction. Mobile web Pay Per Use (PPU) also uses data speed reduction.
      Exception: Unlimited Nationwide 4G LTE data on your phone only has a data speed cap for Smartphone Mobile HotSpot (SMHS). For example, our current Unlimited 4G LTE plan includes 7 GB of monthly high-speed SMHS data, after which SMHS continues at reduced speeds. To learn how T-Mobile manages traffic on its network, visit our Open Internet page.
    • The data speed reduction threshold depends on the plan or feature.
    • You receive a free text message when the data speed reduction threshold is approaching, and when it is reached (when data speed is reduced).
    • You must wait until the following billing cycle to return to full speed data access unless you upgrade to a higher data plan. Contact T-Mobile Customer Service to assist with this upgrade to ensure that speed reduction is removed. You can also change your plan or services on My T-Mobile.

     

    Example: Let's say you have a plan with 3 GB of high-speed data. Your speed is reduced when you reach 3 GB of high-speed usage. You contact Customer Service to upgrade to a 5 GB high-speed data plan or Unlimited Nationwide 4G LTE data on your phone. Now, your speed is no longer reduced and you have an additional 2 GB or unlimited on-phone high-speed data to use for the billing cycle.

     

     

    Can I reset the data speed threshold if I upgrade my plan?

    The data threshold does not reset to zero when upgrading to a higher plan.

     

    Example: If you’re on a plan with 3 GB of high-speed data, you'll reach your high-speed threshold at 3 GB. If you upgrade to our 5 GB high-speed data option, you have 2 GB of high-speed data remaining for the billing cycle for a total bill cycle high-speed data usage of 5 GB.