A master reset is sometimes called a factory data reset or reset for short.
A master reset restores the phone to its original settings, as if it is new again. This deletes the information stored on the device. Information stored on the memory card or synchronized to a Google account is usually saved, though some devices erase the memory card. Follow these steps below to back up any data that you may lose.
Turn off Automatic Backup
View & Sync Accounts / Calendars / Emails
Android can automatically back up your settings. However, if there are problems with your settings and you automatically back them up, the problems will return after a reset. T-Mobile recommends that you turn off this feature.
After the sync instructions above, you can check calendars are backed up:
Your contacts may be backed up to Google, your SD card, or other sources. See your device information > How-to guides > Settings > Backup & restore.
Email is typically stored on the servers of the email provider (not on the device), so you do not need to back it up.
Android does not back up your text messages (SMS) and picture messages (MMS).
Some devices have a backup feature added, which you can see in your device information > How-to guides > Settings > Backup & restore. There are also non-T-Mobile applications in the Play Store that can back up your messages. T-Mobile does not support these applications, but you can contact the developer for help.
T-Mobile recommends that you do NOT restore the messages after the reset. Having many messages can cause phone problems.
If your phone has options to back up app data, you can see your device information > How-to guides > Settings > Backup & restore. There are non-T-Mobile applications on the Play Store that can back up your app data. T-Mobile does not support these applications, but you can contact the developer for help.
Android devices may save your media (pictures, photos, videos, music) on the SD card. If it is stored on the internal storage, you can move it to the SD card or a computer. See your device information > How-to guides > Settings > Backup & restore.
Some Android devices give you the option to erase or "format" the SD card. In most cases, this is not necessary.
You may erase the SD card if you think that an app has stored corrupted data on it. However, because it contains most of your phone data, follow steps below to back up the files first.
Are you sure you want to delete this document?