Apple Find My iPhone Activation Lock

Find My iPhone (FMiP) Activation Lock is an iOS feature that secures your device against anyone else trying to use or sell your lost or stolen device. When this feature is emabled, the Apple ID and password you use for iCloud is securely stored on Apple’s activation servers and linked to your device. With iOS 8, Activation Lock is turned on by default.

 

When Find My iPhone is turned on, your Apple ID and password will be required to do any of the following:

  • Turn off Find My iPhone.
  • Delete your iCloud account from the device.
  • Erase All Content and Settings on an iOS device.
  • Overwrite or restore an iOS device through iTunes.

 

How to disable FMiP Activation Lock

You can quickly and easily use a computer to erase your device remotely and remove it from your account:

  1. In a web browser, visit http://icloud.com/find and log in with your Apple ID.
  2. Click All Devices, then click the device you wish to disable Find My iPhone on.
  3. Click Erase iPhone or Erase iPad.
    Note: For Apple Watch, click the (X) next to your device.
  4. When the device has been erased, click Remove from Account
    • This procedure is also for devices that will not power on or cannot access the internet.

 

You can also learn more about this feature, and find additional steps to disable FMiP using another iOS device on Apple's Find My iPhone: Remove your device page.

 

Important: You should always turn off Find My iPhone and erase your device before selling them or giving them away to ensure the new owner can activate and use the device normally. You should also confirm that Activation Lock is disabled by signing a device when purchasing second-hand devices.

 

Related pages

 

Apple device page

Apple troubleshooting

Exchange a device under warranty