Android anti-theft

The Android anti-theft feature makes it more difficult for anyone else to use or sell your Android device if you ever lose it. When you enable Android anti-theft on your device, your Google Account ID and password will be required to perform certain tasks.

 

 

What is Android anti-theft?

With Android anti-theft enabled, your Google account ID and password will be required before anyone can reset your device. This can help you keep your device secure, even if it is in the wrong hands. You can improve your chances of recovering it, and even erase your device remotely and prevent it from reactivating without your permission. All you need to do is turn on Android anti-theft, and use the Android Device Manager app with your Google account ID and password.

 

 

Returns and exchanges

Returning or exchanging with Android anti-theft active will not void your warranty. Just remember to always turn off Android anti-theft and erase your device before selling or giving them away to ensure the new owner can activate and use the device normally.

 

 

Enable and disable Android anti-theft

The owner of the Google account associated with the device is the only person who can disable Android anti-theft on that device, in one of the following ways:

  • Follow the steps to turn off anti-theft. See: How tos > Settings > Anti-theft
  • Erase All content and settings on the device. See: How tos > Settings > Reset
    • If you have changed the Google Account password within 24 hours and perform a Hardware keys reset you will be unable to log back into the device. You will need to wait 24 hours from the password reset. This time period cannot be avoided or bypassed by using Android Device Manager.
  • Use a computer to erase your device remotely and remove it from your account through the Android Device Manager app.

 

 

Troubleshooting Android anti-theft

Android anti-theft is fully supported by Google. Please contact Google with any questions about the service. If the Google Account ID and password are not known, use the Google Account Recovery process.