Data Stash

Data Stash™ lets you roll forward your unused 4G LTE data – up to 20 GB worth in most cases – into the next month at no additional cost!

 

Data Stash is only available on select plans such as Simple Choice and Simple Choice with No Credit Check. If you want to stop worrying about data limits, make the switch to T-Mobile ONE™ where you'll get unlimited talk, unlimited text, and unlimited 4G LTE data on your smartphone. Learn more about T-Mobile ONE.

 

 

How Data Stash works

Every month, any left-over high-speed data is automatically placed into your Data Stash (up to a limit of 20 GB for most customers). Once you use up your included plan high-speed data, you'll use your oldest stashed data first. Once that is used up, you still have Internet access at a reduced speed. You can carry forward up to 20 GB (for most customers) of unused high-speed stashed data, month to month, at no additional charge.

 

No need to sign up

There's nothing you need to do to get Data Stash. If you're already on an eligible Simple Choice, Simple Choice with No Credit Check, or Simple Choice Prepaid plan with 6 GB or 10 GB of 4G LTE data or more, then Data Stash is available and automatically active on each line of an eligible plan.

 

Traveling in Canada and Mexico

If you're traveling in Mexico and Canada, you won't be able to use your Data Stash, however you will still be able to accrue Data Stash from your unused data.

 

Eligibility

Regardless if you have an individual, family, or business account, all you have to do is be on an eligible plan with 6 to 10 GB of data for smartphones, or 6 GB or more for tablets and data-only devices.

 

 

Your data and Data Stash usage

If you use up your allotment of data, you'll automatically start using your stashed data and receive a text messaging letting you know how much Data Stash data is available. If you exceed the amount of high-speed data in your Data Stash in the same month, you'll still have data at no extra cost, but your data will be at a reduced speed. You'll never be charged overages for going over your data bucket. The next time there’s a month when you have unused high-speed data, that data will roll into the next month and into your Data Stash. If you want to know exactly how much data you have stashed, you can contact T-Mobile Customer Service to check your balance.

 

Adding more high-speed data

We understand that there might be times when you might want to add more high-speed data to your account, such as:

  • You're experiencing reduced data speeds after reaching your data allotment for the month.
  • You used up your monthly allotment and you don't have data saved up in your Data Stash.

 

If you're on a Pay in Advance (Prepaid) plan, you can add more data. Just pay using a credit card or bank account.

 

If you're on a postpaid Simple Choice Plan, you can do one of the following:

  • Change your data service. You can make an increase to the amount of data on your plan.
  • Add an On Demand Data Pass. If you need high-speed data for just a short time, you can buy a 1-day (500 MB) or 1-week (1 GB) data pass. Data passes are not subject to Data Stash.

 

 

Data Stash FAQs

Why does my Data Stash look different?

The information listed above covers the Data Stash experience on most eligible Simple Choice plans, so your Data Stash may be different. If you’re still on an older plan and are looking for more data, you can sign up for T-Mobile ONE, where you don't have to worry about how much data you're using. Go here to learn how to change your plan. If you're on your phone, you can use the T-Mobile app to see what your plan includes. Or, log in to My T-Mobile for more information about your plan.

 

What happens if I change my data amount?

If you change the amount of 4G LTE data on your plan within the 6 GB to 10 GB range, you won't lose any stashed data, as long as you haven't reached your cap. For example, if you have 10 GB on a Simple Choice plan and you move down to 6 GB, you won't lose any stashed data. But, if you change from say 6 GB to Unlimited 4G LTE on your smartphone, or from 6 GB to 2 GB, your stashed data will not be saved.