Master reset: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1

Learn how to master reset the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 through the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

 

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory. See: Backup & restore: Samsung Tab 2 10.1
  2. Back up all necessary data that is on the internal memory.
  3. From any Home screen, tap the Apps icon.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Back up and reset.
  6. Tap to clear the Automatic restore check box, if necessary.
  7. Tap to clear the Back up my data check box, if necessary.
  8. Tap OK, if necessary.
  9. Tap Factory data reset.
  10. Tap Reset device.
  11. Tap Delete all.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

 

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.. See: Backup & restore: Samsung Tab 2 10.1
  2. Save any open files, and back up all necessary data to a computer if the tablet is responsive and can synchronize files.
  3. Press and hold the Power/Lock key, tap Power off, and then tap OK to turn off the tablet.
  4. Press and hold the Power/Lock key and Up Volume key at the same time.
  5. Release the Power/lock key when the Samsung logo appears.
  6. Release the Up Volume keys when the Android image appears.
  7. When the menu appears, press the Up Volume key to select wipe data / factory reset.
  8. Press the Power/Lock key to select.
  9. Press the Down Volume key to scroll to Yes – delete all user data.
  10. Press the Power/Lock key to select.
  11. Press the Power/Lock key to select reboot system now.