Master reset: T-Mobile Sidekick 4G

Learn how to master reset the T-Mobile Sidekick 4G through the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

 

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. Back up all necessary data and synchronize files.
  3. From any Home screen, press the Menu key.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Privacy.
  6. Clear the Back up my data check box.
    • Note: If this check box is selected, the settings that caused problems before may return.
  7. Tap Factory data reset.
  8. Read the message about erasing data.
  9. Tap Reset phone.
  10. Tap Erase everything.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

 

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. Back up all necessary data and synchronize files. See: Back up & restore
  3. Turn off the phone.
    • Note: If the phone is unresponsive and does not turn off, remove the battery and then re-insert it.
  4. Hold down the Volume Up + Volume Down keys and Power key simultaneously.
  5. When the Samsung logo appears on the screen, wait a few seconds, the Android system recovery screen will appear and release the keys .
    • Timing is key, if you do not release the keys at the right moment, the phone will restart and you will need to begin again.
  6. Press the Volume Down key to select Delete all user data when the Android master reset menu appears.
  7. Press the Power key to confirm your selection.
  8. Press the Volume Down key to select Yes – delete all user data.
  9. Press the Power key to confirm your selection.
  10. Press the Power key to select reboot system now.