Master reset: T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide

Learn how to master reset the T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide through the menu or hardware keys.

 

 

 

 

Master reset from settings menu

 

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. Before performing a master reset for software issues, turn off automatic backup so the issue does not return.
  3. From the Home screen, press the Menu key.
  4. Touch Settings.
  5. Touch SD & Phone Storage.
  6. Touch Factory data reset.
  7. Touch Resetphone.
  8. Touch Eraseeverything.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

 

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloads, ringtones, images, apps, contacts, and Visual Voicemail. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. Turn off the phone.
    • Note: If the phone is unresponsive and does not turn off,  remove the battery and then re-insert it.
  3. Press and hold the Volume Down key and then press the  Power key.
  4. When the screen with the three Androids appears, release the  VolumeDown key. Some green text may load before the menu settings, so wait for the menu options to appear.
  5. Press the VolumeDown key to select ClearStorage.
  6. Press the Power key.
  7. Press the VolumeUp key for YES to delete all user data.
    • Note: To decline the reset, press the Volume Down key to select NO. You do not need to press any other key to select these options.
  8. If you are prompted to restore settings, select Cancel.
    • Note: You may choose to restore the settings, if you were not having any problems with the device before the reset that could be related to settings.