Reset: Sony Xperia Z1s

Learn how to wipe or master reset the Sony Xperia Z1s through the menu or hardware keys. Find out more on this page:

 

Cache partition

Master reset

Safe mode

 

 

Cache partition

Wipe cache partition

If the phone is not working correctly, you may need to master reset it and also clear the cache partition. These two resets clear different parts of the phone storage. Unlike a master reset, wiping the cache partition does not delete your personal data.

 

To wipe the cache partition, follow these steps:

 

  1. While the device is on, press and hold the Power and Volume Up keys.
  2. Wait for the screen to shut off and the device to vibrate once (about 3 seconds).
  3. Release the keys once the screen has shut off.
  4. Press the power key to turn the device back on.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Master reset

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. From any Home screen, tap the Applications icon.
  3. Scroll to and tap Settings.
  4. Scroll to 'PERSONAL,' and then tap Back up & reset.
  5. Clear the Automatic restore check box.
  6. Under 'PERSONAL DATA,' tap Factory data reset.
  7. Tap Reset phone.
  8. If you have screen lock turned on, enter your PIN or password, and then tap Continue.
  9. Tap Erase everything to confirm.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

We're sorry, but performing a hard key reset is not available on this device. Please use the settings menu to access the master reset feature.

 

If you cannot access the menus because the device is frozen or will not power on, perform the following:

 

  1. Press and hold the Power and Volume Up keys.
  2. Wait for the device to vibrate three times (about 10 seconds).
    • Note: The device will vibrate once, then a few seconds later it will vibrate three times.
  3. Release the keys.
  4. Press the power key to turn the device back on.

 

Note: If you cannot access the device due to a forgotten password, you will need to use PC Companion to reload the software.

 

Back to top

 

 

Safe mode

Turn on and use safe mode

Safe mode allows you to turn on the device with third-party apps disabled. Then you can easily remove all apps that may be causing a conflict or software problem.

 

To turn on safe mode and use it to fix app problems, follow these steps:

 

  1. Touch and hold the Power key.
  2. Touch and hold Power off.
  3. Tap OK on the Safe Mode prompt. The device will restart in safe mode.
  4. From any Home screen, tap the Applications icon.
  5. Scroll to and tap Settings.
  6. Scroll to 'DEVICE,' and then tap Apps.
  7. If necessary, touch the screen and slide right to view the Downloaded screen.
  8. Select the desired application.
  9. Tap Uninstall, and then tap OK.

 

 

Turn off safe mode

To turn off safe mode, follow these steps:

 

  1. Touch and hold the Power key.
  2. Tap Power off.
  3. Once the phone is off, touch and the hold the Power key again to restart.

 

 

Back to top