Reset: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit 4G

Learn how to wipe or master reset the Samsung Galaxy Exhibit 4G through the menu or hardware keys. Find out more on this page:

 

Cache partition

Master reset

Safe mode

 

 

Cache partition

Wipe cache partition

If the phone is not working correctly, you may need to master reset it and also clear the cache partition. These two resets clear different parts of the phone storage. Unlike a master reset, wiping the cache partition does not delete your personal data.

 

To wipe the cache partition, follow these steps:

 

  1. With the device powered off, press and hold the Volume UP + Power key.
    • Note: Do NOT press both the Volume UP, Volume Down + Power key. The phone will load to RAM Dump Mode. To escape the RAM Dump Mode you will need to pull the battery and retry.
  2. When the word Samsung appears on the screen, quickly release only the Power key.
  3. Continue holding the Volume UP key through the Exhibit II splash screen until the Android software download screen appears.
  4. Release the Volume UP key.
  5. Tap the Menu key.
    • Note:  The screen will slightly dim. Approx 2 seconds later the Android reset menu will appear.
  6. Use the Volume Down key to highlight wipe cache partition.
  7. Tap the Home key to select.
  8. Use the Volume Down key to highlight Yes.
  9. Tap the Home key to select.
  10. The phone will display the dump, once complete it bring you back to the Android Recovery Screen.
  11. Highlight Reboot system now.
  12. Press the Home key to select.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Master reset

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory. See: Backup & restore.
  2. Back up all necessary data that is on the internal memory.
  3. From any Home screen, tap the Menu menu.jpg key.
  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Tap Privacy.
  6. Tap Factory data reset.
  7. Uncheck Automatic Backup and Restore.
  8. Tap Reset Phone.
  9. Tap Ok to confirm.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory. See: Backup & restore.
  2. With the device powered off, hold the Volume UP + Power key.
    • Note: Do NOT press both the Volume UP, Volume Down + Power key. The phone will load to RAM Dump Mode. To escape the RAM Dump Mode you will need to pull the battery and complete the Master Reset with hardware keys.
  3. When the word Samsung appears on the screen, quickly release only the Power key.
  4. Continue holding the Volume UP key through the Exhibit II splash screen until the Android software download screen appears.
  5. Release the Volume UP key.
  6. Press the Menu key.
    • Note:  The screen will dim slightly. Approx 2 seconds later the Android reset menu will appear.
  7. Use the Volume Down key to highlight wipe data/factory reset.
  8. Press the Home key to select.
  9. Use the Volume Down key to highlight Yes -- delete all user data.
  10. Press the Home key to select.
  11. The phone will display the dump, once complete it bring you back to the Android Recovery Screen.
  12. Highlight Reboot system now.
  13. Press the Home key to select.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Safe mode

Turn on and use safe mode

Safe mode allows you to turn on the device with third-party apps disabled. Then you can easily remove all apps that may be causing a conflict or software problem.

 

To turn on safe mode and use it to fix app problems, follow these steps:

 

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device.

 

 

Turn off safe mode

To turn off safe mode, follow these steps:

 

We're sorry, but this feature is not available for this device.

 

 

Back to top