Reset: HTC One S

Learn how to wipe or master reset the HTC One S through the menu or hardware keys. Find out more on this page:

 

Cache partition

Master reset

Safe mode

 

 

Cache partition

Wipe cache partition

If the phone is not working correctly, you may need to master reset it and also clear the cache partition. These two resets clear different parts of the phone storage. Unlike a master reset, wiping the cache partition does not delete your personal data.

 

To wipe the cache partition, follow these steps:

 

  1. Save any open files.
  2. If the phone is plugged into the charger or USB cable, unplug it.
  3. Turn off Fast boot.
    Note: You can turn it off via Settings, Power, clear the Fast boot bubble.
  4. Turn off the device.
  5. With the device turned off, press and hold the Volume Down key.
  6. Press and release the Power key to turn the phone on. Continue holding the Volume Down key.
  7. Release the Volume Down key when the three Android images appear on the bottom of the screen. The following options display:   
    • FASTBOOT
    • RECOVERY
    • FACTORY RESET
    • SIMLOCK
    • IMAGE CRC
      Note: If you are stuck on a screen that says 'HBOOT' and 'FASTBOOT' without any other options to choose from, it means you have pressed the Back button. To get to the regular options, press either the Power key on HBOOT or the Back button.
  8. Press the Volume Down key once to select 'RECOVERY.'
  9. Press the Power key.
  10. Wait as the device displays the boot up screen, then shows a picture of a phone with a red triangle.
  11. On the red triangle screen, hold the Volume Up key and press the Power key at the same time. A blue menu displays:
    • Reboot system now
    • Apply sdcard:update.zip
    • Wipe data/factory reset
    • Wipe cache partition
  12. Press the Volume Down key three times to scroll to 'Wipe cache partition.'
  13. Press the Power key to initiate the wipe.
  14. Wait until the phone displays 'Cache wipe complete.'
  15. Press the Power key to select 'Reboot system now.'

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Master reset

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. From any Home screen, tap the Applications icon.
  3. Scroll to and tap Settings.
  4. Tap Backup & restore.
  5. Tap Reset phone.
  6. Tap Erase all data (if desired).
  7. Tap Reset phone.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. If the device is responsive and can synchronize files, save any open files and back up all necessary data to a computer.
  3. Press and hold the Power key.
  4. Tap Power off.
    Note: Device contains internal battery. Therefore, device battery cannot be removed and reinserted as part of a master reset using hardware keys.
  5. Press and hold the Volume Down key and then briefly press the Power key.
  6. When you see the screen with the three Android images, release the Volume Down key.
  7. Press the Volume Down key to select 'Factory Reset.'
  8. Press the Power key.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Safe mode

Turn on and use safe mode

Safe mode allows you to turn on the device with third-party apps disabled. Then you can easily remove all apps that may be causing a conflict or software problem.

 

To turn on safe mode and use it to fix app problems, follow these steps:

 

  1. From any screen, press and hold the Power key.
  2. Touch and hold Power off.
  3. Tap Restart. When the device restarts, 'Safe mode' will appear in the lower-left corner of the screen.
  4. Navigate to and uninstall any third-party apps which you suspect to be causing problems.

 

 

Turn off safe mode

To turn off safe mode, follow these steps:

 

  1. From any screen, press and hold the Power key.
  2. Tap Restart.
  3. Tap Restart again. When the device restarts, it will no longer be in safe mode.

 

 

Back to top