Reset: T-Mobile Prism II

Learn how to wipe or master reset the T-Mobile Prism II through the menu or hardware keys. Find out more on this page:

 

Cache partition

Master reset

Safe mode

 

 

Cache partition

Wipe cache partition

If the phone is not working correctly, you may need to master reset it and also clear the cache partition. These two resets clear different parts of the phone storage. Unlike a master reset, wiping the cache partition does not delete your personal data.

 

To wipe the cache partition, follow these steps:

 

  1. Turn off the phone.
  2. Press and hold the Power and Volume Up keys simultaneously.
  3. Continue to hold the keys past the T-Mobile splash screen.
  4. Release all keys when the Android system recovery screen appears.
  5. Press the Volume Down key to highlight 'wipe cache partition.'
  6. Press the Power key to select.
  7. Once the device shows cache wipe complete, press the Power key to select 'reboot system now.'
    Note:
    The phone will automatically restart.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Master reset

Master reset from settings menu

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. From the Home screen, tap the Menu key.
  3. Tap System settings.
  4. Scroll to 'PERSONAL,' and then tap Backup & reset.
  5. Tap Factory data reset.
  6. Tap Reset phone.
  7. Tap Reset phone again.

 

 

Master reset with hardware keys

A master reset restores the original factory settings and may delete your personal data on the internal storage, such as downloaded content, ringtones, images, apps, and contacts. It does not delete data stored on the SIM card or SD card.

 

If the device menus are frozen or unresponsive, you can master reset using hardware keys. To perform a master reset, follow these steps:

 

  1. Back up all data on the internal memory.
  2. Turn off the phone.
  3. Press and hold the Power and Volume Up keys simultaneously.
  4. Continue to hold the keys past the T-Mobile splash screen.
  5. Release all keys when the Android system recovery screen appears.
  6. Press the Volume Down key to highlight 'wipe data/factory reset.'
  7. Press the Power key to select.
  8. Press the Volume Down key to highlight 'Yes -- delete all user data.'
  9. Press the Power key to select. The unpacking Android screen appears, and once complete with the reset, the Android system recovery screen reappears.
  10. Press the Volume Down key to highlight 'reboot system now.'
  11. Press the Power key to select. The phone will automatically restart.

 

 

Back to top

 

 

Safe mode

Turn on and use safe mode

Safe mode allows you to turn on the device with third-party apps disabled. Then you can easily remove all apps that may be causing a conflict or software problem.

 

To turn on safe mode and use it to fix app problems, follow these steps:

 

  1. With the device on, press and hold the Power key.
  2. Touch and hold Power off.
  3. Review the 'Reboot to safe mode' screen, and then tap OK.
    Note: The device will restart and 'Safe mode' will appear in the lower left corner of the screen.
  4. Remove applications as necessary.

 

 

Turn off safe mode

To turn off safe mode, follow these steps:

 

  1. With the device on, press and hold the Power key.
  2. Tap Power off.
  3. Remove the battery.
  4. Re-insert the battery.
  5. Press the Power key to turn on the device, but do not touch any keys during the restart.
    If this does not work, see: Cannot turn off Safe mode: Android.

 

 

Back to top